Press Release

मोलाना आज़ाद नेशनल उर्दू यूनिवर्सिटी مولانا آزاد نیشنل اُردویو نیورگ

MAULANA AZAD NATIONAL URDU UNIVERSITY

(A Central University established by an Act of Parliament in 1998) Gachibowli, Hyderabad - 500 032 TS Ph: 040 - 23006612-15 Ext. 1370



email: pro@manuu.edu.in, proffice@manuu.edu.in, website: www.manuu.ac.in **Press Release**

September 19, 2019

Shaik Umer Faruq Quadri elected president of MANUU Students Union

Hyderabad:

Mr. Shaik Umer Faruq Quadri, student of Dept. of English, has been elected as 8th President of Maulana Azad National Urdu University's Students Union (MSU) today in the elections held for the academic year 2019-20.

Students enthusiasm was evident right from the beginning of polling at 9.00 am which continued till 1.00 pm at Indoor Stadium, MANUU Campus. Besides the headquarters, polling was also held at other campuses of the University except Srinagar. The other campuses where elections were held include Bangalore, Lucknow, Bhopal, Darbhanga, Aurangabad, Asansol, Sambhal, Nuh and Bidar.

The Chief Returning Officer, Prof. Mohammed Abdul Azeem declared the result at 6.30 pm in the evening. The elections were peaceful and students turned up in large numbers for electing their representatives, he said. Out of total 2789 voters, 76 percent students cast their votes at headquarters.

According to Prof. Azeem, Mr. Intekhab Alam (Dept. of CS&IT) elected for the post of Vice President, Mr. Amir (Dept. of Management & Commerce) for Secretary, Ms. Fakhra Abda (Dept. Of Education & Training) for Joint Secretary and Ms. G. Vishnu Priya (School of Language, Linguistics & Indology) elected for the post of Treasurer. 20 Executive Committee Members from campus and off campus were also elected today. Three students panels, without any political affiliations, were in fray.

Prof. Syed Alim Ashraf was assigned the responsibility to address election related grievances. Prof. S M Rahmatullah & Prof. P F Rahman were election observers. Prof. Mohd. Zafaruddin was special invitee. Proctorial team under the guidance of Prof. Abul Kalam & Dr. Mohd. Yousuf Khan ensured peaceful elections. Dr. Karan Singh Utwal, Dr. Syed Najiullah, Dr. Syed Khaja Safiuddin, Dr. D. Seshu Babu, Dr. Rizwan Ul Haq Ansari, Mr. Jameel Ahamed, Dr. Sameena Kausar, Dr. Mohammed Abdul Sami Siddiqui, Dr. K M Ziyauddin, Dr. Shabana Kesar & Dr. Mohd. Akbar performed the duties of returning officers.

Dr. Mohammad Aslam Parvaiz, Vice-Chancellor, congratulated the newly elected office bearers and declared tomorrow (Friday) as holiday for the University.

Prof. Ayub Khan, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dr. M.A. Sikandar, Registrar also extended their greetings to the new team.

The investiture ceremony for winners would be conducted on September 24.

(Abid Abdul Wasay) Public Relations Officer





Shaik Uer Faruq Quadri Intekhab Alam Amir Fakhra Abda